The 2021 Vestry of Church of the Resurrection

Church members and clergy together govern an Episcopal Church through a governing board called a Vestry. This governing board is called a Vestry because; at one time, it customarily met in the "Vesting Room" or Vestry (the room in the church where the vestments for worship were stored and put on by those leading worship).  The Vestry consists of church members, elected at the annual meeting of the church, and the Rector.  The Vestry is the legal governing and decision making body of the church which approves the parish budget, makes parish policy decisions, and spends the parish's money.  When the Rector leaves the Church it is the Vestry who calls the new Rector.  The Vestry meets on the Second Wednesday evening of each month.  Vestry meetings are open to all church members to attend.

Amanda Szakats – Senior Warden
Lori Vella - Junior Warden
  - Clerk of the Vestry
Myron Backhaus
Chuck Bartell
Russ Bratburd
 Lindsay Firth
Lita Gloor-Little
Sheila Hassell Hughes
Lisa Moore
Davida Pugh
Brooke Taylor
Jenelle Towle

The 2021 Deanery Lay Delegates and Clergy Delegates
The Diocese of California is organized into six deaneries (a group of parishes). The Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, and Southern Alameda deaneries cover their respective counties; the Peninsula Deanery consists of all of San Mateo County and a small portion of Santa Clara County.
Church of the Resurrection is one of ten churchs of the Contra Costa Deanery.  The other nine churchs are: Grace - Martinez, St. Anselm's - Lafayette, St. Anna's - Antioch, St. John's - Clayton (Holy Spirit Church), St. Mark's - Crockett, St. Michael and All Angels - Concord (Holy Spirit Church), St. Paul's - Walnut Creek, St. Stephen's - Orinda, and St. Timothy's - Danville.

The Contra Costa Deanery meets four times a year: March, June, September, and November.  Both lay and clergy delegates attend the Diocesan Convention at Grace Cathedral in October.

Our Lay Deanery Delegates are elected by the members of the parish at the Annual Meeting and each serves a two-year term: first year as an alternate and second year as a delegate.
Our 2022 Lay Deanery Delegates are:
Lita Gloor-Little
Emma Jones
Dian Matthews
Phil Matthews

Our Clergy Deanery Delegate is:
The Reverend Liz Tichenor